May 9, 2016


Speedy Ortiz Share Optimistic Punk Track 'Death Note': Listen

Ladies and gentlemen, they're back! Massachusetts '90s-influenced indie punk band Speedy Ortiz has been radio silent for a minute now and our patience is finally being rewarded. Today the band hae shared a surprisingly optimistic, anime-themed new single, "Death Note." Listen above.

Frontwoman Sadie Dupuis detailed the release in a statement:

“‘Death Note’ is named after the anime, which is about an evil supernatural notebook that causes the death of anyone whose name is written inside of it. The song is about writing through your depression as a way to get better, and how in that way a death note can be kind of love letter to yourself.”

The band also announced a new EP, Foiled Again, out June 3 via Carpark Records. Check out the tracklist below.

Foiled Again EP track list:
1. “Death Note”
2. “Puffer feat. Lizzo (Lazerbeak Remix)”
3. “Emma O”
4. “Puffer (Open Mike Eagle Remix”